top of page

More info


Soul & Survival is a way at looking at life that makes sense. It is enlightening, useful and meaningful. Soul & Survival explains human behaviour in simple everyday terms.

Some of these questions may be important to you:

- Why do people treat me the way they do?

- Why does the same theme keep repeating in my life?

- Why do I react in the same way even when I know it is going to hurt me?

Soul & Survival explains the answers to all of these questions – life questions that plague many of us especially when times are stressful.

About Soul and Survival

You have two parts to you.  Your soul and your survival instinct.  The two are entwined together like a DNA strand.  Every day, you will move in and out of the two states.  The more relaxed and energised you are, the more you will be in your soul.  The more stressed and tired you are, the more your survival instinct will rule you.


What is a survival instinct?

Your survival instinct is an emotionally based program that is triggered by tiredness and stress.  It exists and reacts from an unconscious place within you. You continue to breath and your organs operate, even when you are not even thinking about them.  Both when you are asleep and awake. Your survival instinct operates in the same way.


Why are there seven types of survival instinct?

To help humans survive through all sorts of high-level stresses, nature has put different strategies into seven different groups.  Like putting your eggs in seven different baskets to make sure some of them make it. This is why people behave so differently when under stress.  It is why we often don’t understand each other.


Tolstoy wrote in Anna Karenina….

“Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way” (1875-1877)


People are like that too.  We often like and are happy with the same things – loving others and being loved, being part of a secure family or community group, doing creative things, and feeling that we matter.


But when we are stressed, we have a lot of different reactions.  We see right and wrong in different ways. We are afraid of different things.  We place aspects of our lives into different hierarchies. We make different moves to others, even when the same stresses happen to us.  Some people see stress in a topic that others are indifferent to.


We are all different, yet there are parts of us that are very similar.


The survival instinct is about those different parts.  Both negative and positive. Sometimes it can seem that the survival instinct is just a negative part of us – to be modified and removed.  Yet, it is how we survive, so we can’t get rid of it. We should respect it and understand it. After all, it is there for us. But it can get out of control.  If we get crazy stressed and tired, we will begin to lose our rational self and the survival instinct will rule without guidance.


The types of survival instinct

There are many crossovers with the seven types of survival instinct.  It can be easy to see yourself – or at least part of yourself – in all of the groups.  With an honest and rational look at who you are, how you get stressed, and your behaviour overall, you will see yourself more in one group than all others.


To help identify the subtle differences between each group, they have been labelled.



Colour is energetic, yet it can be easily differentiated.  Yellow is different to red which is different to blue. Colour is a great way to understand energy.

What are the colours?

Each survival instinct has a label to differentiate it from the other six. Because each group has its own strengths and weaknesses - but no single group is better or worse than any other - they need a neutral but meaningful label. Colours elicit a different emotional response but neither is better or worse than any other. So each type of survival instinct has been given its own colour:

- Yellow

- Red


- Orange




Each colour group is distinctive. Our individuality comes from two places. Our survival instinct and the qualities of our colour group.


Soul and Survival uses colour to differentiate the seven survival instincts and the drive behind them all.  The colours are based on energetic directional forces – unseen but observable through facial structure.


Reading facial structure accurately requires training.  However, you may wish to try to analyse your own face. We have two versions – a free basic version and paid software (with more training detail) which has a free ten-day trial.


Understanding the groups via energy

Energy has a directional force – a way it moves – a place it wants to go to.

Each of the seven colour groups has its own force, or a combination of forces.


  • Yellow is outward motion like the sun

  • Red is circular motion like the cycle of the planets

  • Blue is inward motion like gravity

  • Orange is both yellow and red – outward and circular motion create resistance when they meet

  • Purple is both red and blue – circular motion and inward motion have space between them – they never meet

  • Green is both yellow and blue – outward motion and inward motion move backward and forwards creating reactive force

  • Brown is both yellow, red and blue – the three forces together create harmony and balance but each trying to hold its own place


You will be dominant in one of these colour groups.

More info (buy the book)

bottom of page